

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

Email: gyoung@nlh.nl.ca

2020-03-30

Geoffrey Young, Q.C.
Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary
Hydro Place, 500 Columbus Drive
P.O. Box 12400, St. John's, NL
Canada A1B 4K7

Re: The Liberty Consulting Group Eighth Monitoring Report on the Integration of Power Supply Facilities to the Island Interconnected System - Monthly Update

- Response to March 25, 2020 and March 27, 2020 Correspondence

Dear Mr. Young,

The Board acknowledges receipt of your letters of March 25, 2020 and March 27, 2020 which outlined the current implications of the Covid-19 pandemic for the Muskrat Falls Project, including that it is not possible to provide a reliable schedule forecast at this time and that limited work is still continuing with respect to the LIL software development.

The Board requests that Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro provide an updated overall schedule as soon as it is available and that it continue to report on any changes, as they occur, with respect to:

- (i) the schedule for the LIL software development and testing;
- (ii) binding/vibration issues with the Soldiers pond synchronous condensers; and
- (iii) any other matter that may impact the integration of the Muskrat Falls Project to the Island interconnected system.

Regular reporting as previously directed should continue.

If you have any questions please contact the Board's Legal Counsel, Jacqui Glynn by email (jglynn@pub.nl.ca).

Yours truly,

Cheryl Blundon

Director of Corporate Services and Board Secretary

cb/

ECC

Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro

NLHRegulatory@nlh.nl.ca Newfoundland Power

ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com regulatory@newfoundlandpower.com

Consumer Advocate dbrowne@bfma-law.com sfitzgerald@bfma-law.com sarahfitzgerald@bfma-law.com bbailey@bfma-law.com Industrial Customer Group

pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com dfleming@coxandpalmer.com dporter@poolealthouse.ca

Praxair Canada Inc.

sheryl_nisenbaum@praxair.com

Teck Resources Limited shawn.kinsella@teck.com

NLH Regulatory Email

Gerard Hayes
NP Regulatory Email

Dennis Browne Q.C., Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Stephen Fitzgerald, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Sarah Fitzgerald, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Bernice Bailey, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis

Paul Coxworthy, Stewart McKelvey Denis Fleming, Cox & Palmer, Dean Porter, Poole Althouse

Sheryl Nisenbaum

Shawn Kinsella